Page 1 of 1

[Resolved] Mounted Units Size & Usefulness

Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 10:55 pm
by SarKonTaLk
While I am at it... you should consider boosting the mounted units. They are too fat for melee battles, making them easy to be attacked by multiple enemies and hard to actually mass strike units. Testing a battle between 24 swordsmen and 24 mounted units you should see that the swordsmen will dominate in a narrow enough battlefield (which is usually the entrance to a base).

Lets just say that if you have a fighting line that is narrow it can include more swordsmen than horsemen, which means the swordsmen will do more damage combined to less units and reduce the enemy numbers faster. Also the mounted units are weak against towers and archers, which means they die quickly. Even if the footmen are weaker against mounted units, any army configuration that includes archers will always kill the horsemen with ease.

Try 12 swordsmen 12 archers against 12 archers 12 horsemen . The army with the swordsmen will win, because the horsemen can't properly tank against the ranged units and kill the footmen. The tanks are the first units the archers strike (either swordsmen or horsemen work as tanks) and swordsmen are the best in those situations. So the best army configuration always includes only swordsmen and archers, which can only be killed by another army having the same 2 types of units or only swordsmen type, making the horsemen useless in any situation.

Re: Mounted Units Size & Usefulness

Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 6:27 pm
by Jesse James
I split this off into its own thread because it is a separate issue to be discussed.

Re: Mounted Units Size & Usefulness

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2016 8:10 pm
by StrelokNPP
Would it be possible to reduce collision size of mounted units?

Re: Mounted Units Size & Usefulness

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:40 pm
by Pwnage
I have reduced the size of mounted units to be equal to ranged and ground units. We will have to do testing and simulations to get a feel for whether or not this is a viable change, but the issue is tentatively resolved.